Dangerous! by Tim Warnes (2014)

A mole who likes to label everything and a crocodile who discovers a passion for eating labels? I knew I was going to love this book from the moment I read its description.

Mole’s labels are many and varied, there are nouns, like “snail” and “moss” “twig” and “poo”. And when he discovers a mysterious green lump on the path his labels venture into adjective territory, “lumpy” “bumpy” “bobbly” and a bit of “nobbly”. But when the thing wakes up, a new label is required. The only problem is that the thing starts eating Mole’s labels while simultaneously following him around.

spread3I’m at a loss to find the right words for how great this book is. In the vein of Mole, I’m going to string together a bunch of labels; great, original, quirky, tasty, heart-warming, splendid. A crocodile puppet or felt and some labels (from the book, or suggested by your audience) would make for a truly awesome storytelling event.

Check out Dangerous! at Auckland Libraries.

Or buy Dangerous! from Fishpond.

2 thoughts on “Dangerous! by Tim Warnes (2014)

  1. Hi Lucy,
    Thanks for the great review of my book, DANGEROUS! I’m so glad you like it. Funnily enough, I’ve been thinking about making a big crocodile puppet, but as with lots of things, there never seems to be enough hours in the day…! Anyway, you’ll be pleased to know there’s talk of a follow up book, if only I can nail that idea… thanks again and good luck with your blog project,
    Tim

    • Hi Tim,
      A big crocodile puppet is essential in everybody’s life. I very much look forward to the follow up to Dangerous. Congratulations again on a truly excellent book, I never thought I would have seen that particular passion of mine (labels) featuring in a picture book!
      Lucy

Leave a comment (or just say "hi!")

