I ain’t gonna paint no more by Karen Beaumont; illustrated by David Catrow (2005)

I-Aint-Gonna-Paint-No-MoreThere is so much scope with this picture book, it’s hard to know where to start. First of all, the words are based on a song, It ain’t gonna rain no more so if you feel inspired, instead of reading to your audience you can sing it to your audience.

The story itself is hilarious. A crazy child let loose with a paintbrush starts painting his body parts, “So I take some red… and I paint my head”. The lines are split over pages which leaves your audience guessing the end of each rhyme. With almost no white left on his body our highly decorated friend finally says, “But I’m such a nut, gonna paint my…”?? Don’t panic, it’s all very cleverly censored. The pages of the book get messier and messier with splashes of bright paint covering them entirely by the end.

I gave myself the added challenge of creating a white laminated boy and painting the appropriate body parts as I sang this story to a preschool audience. It was a lot of fun. Just make sure you sing slowly and place a drop-sheet on the carpet!

Check out I ain’t gonna paint no more at Auckland Libraries.

Or buy I ain’t gonna paint no more from Fishpond.

One thought on “I ain’t gonna paint no more by Karen Beaumont; illustrated by David Catrow (2005)

Leave a comment (or just say "hi!")

