My little star by Mark Sperring; illustrated by Nicola O’Byrne (2014)

IMG_0834As you read My little star, you feel as if you are being stroked on the head like a pussy cat. So settle yourselves somewhere comfortable, ready for today’s review.

From the moment you open the cover and are greeted by endpapers of the setting sun, you feel a gentleness descend. On each page we are drawn into the embrace of an animal and their baby accompanied by beautiful words about sleep and love, comparing the child to the stars in the sky. A refrain repeats, “My little star, you are, you are. You are my little star.”IMG_0842[1]

For a book like this, my usual technique of exploding exclamation marks and exuberant language doesn’t work. So instead, I’ll leave you to just sit quietly and let the book speak for itself.

Check out My little star at Auckland Libraries.

Or buy My little star from Fishpond.

Leave a comment (or just say "hi!")

