What to do if an elephant stands on your foot by Michelle Robinson; illustrated by Peter H. Reynolds (2012)

Since we’ve been friends for a while now, you’re probably starting to get a bit of an idea of the types of picture books that make me happy. Anything a little ridiculous and loud always catches my eye, so it’s probably no surprise that today I’m reviewing this gem, What to do if an elephant stands on your foot.

I had heaps of fun reading this to a huge audience at a special storytime a few years ago. In fact, my About page features me doing just that. On a side note, I’ve yet to find an attractive picture of myself reading a book to an audience! Does anyone else suffer from this same affliction?

Essentially this book is full of a whole lot of great advice that our unwitting hero, the small boy standing on the elephant’s foot on the cover, manages to completely ignore. This advice includes useful tips like, don’t make sudden movements in front of snakes, stay silent in front of tigers, standard every day great advice. Our wee hero lurches from one disaster to the next, with a great facial expression to accompany each catastrophe. All round good fun.

Check out What to do if an elephant stands on your foot at Auckland Libraries.

Or buy What to do if an elephant stands on your foot from Fishpond.

 

2 thoughts on “What to do if an elephant stands on your foot by Michelle Robinson; illustrated by Peter H. Reynolds (2012)

  1. Lucy I definitely suffer from the bad photo thing. Especially as my lovely photo taking colleagues seem to delight in catching me mid roar or something with my mouth open and my eyes shut – of course these are the only pictures they will use in promotional stuff. Sigh

    • Hey Megan, I’m so glad it’s not just me. I’ve come to the conclusion that the only way to get a good reading photo is to stage it, being sure to keep the flapping arms and crazy facials far, far way.

Leave a comment (or just say "hi!")

