Little mouse by Alison Murray (2012)

On a regular basis I call my 3-year-old nephew “Big dog.” He’s not much of a fan of this nickname and always replies “I’m not a big dog, I’m Jacob.”

The gorgeous character in today’s picture book has a similar problem, although hers is less of a literal issue and more of a limitation objection.

“Sometimes, when I’m being very quiet and cuddly my mummy calls me her little mouse.”20141010_144119

She goes on to outline her non-mouse like attributes, which are paired with delightful illustrations of appropriate animals. There are fabulous animal noises just waiting to be read aloud, and lovely words likes “zoom” “stomp” and “splash” for you to play with.

Highly recommended for reading aloud to a pre-school audience. Have fun!

Check out Little mouse at Auckland Libraries.

Or buy Little mouse from Fishpond.

2 thoughts on “Little mouse by Alison Murray (2012)

Leave a comment (or just say "hi!")

