Anything is possible by Giulia Belloni; illustrated by Marco Trevisan (2013)

As I write this post my knees are aching, I have enormous blisters and I’m walking like a cowboy. The reason being, my completion of a half marathon this morning. This probably sounds more impressive than it is, I was very under-prepared, and slow. There were quite a few times (big hills, ominous rain clouds, the 12km mark, and every marker after that) when I didn’t think I was going to make it. But, eventually, I did.

The back of this book proclaims, “Only those who dream learn to fly.” I’m reminded a little of one of the slogans on a tshirt I followed today, “Hard work beats talent when talent doesn’t work hard.” I reflected on that for quite a long time as I plodded my way over the Auckland Harbour Bridge.IMG_1129

Sheep, after watching birds fly, decides it’s something she absolutely needs to do. So she and wolf start work. After two failed attempts they finally invent a successful flying machine and soar with the birds.

“See?” said the sheep. “What did I tell you?”

“Anything is possible,” admitted the wolf.

The sky before them was wide open.

The illustrations are wonderful, with lots of paper and fabric prints incorporated. The concepts in this story are lovely, throwing up lots of discussion points for a classroom, and if you’re adventurous perhaps an attempt at making a flying machine!

Check out Anything is possible at Auckland Libraries.

Or buy Anything is possible from Fishpond.

Leave a comment (or just say "hi!")

