Chicka chicka boom boom by Bill Martin Jr and John Archambault; illustrated by Lois Ehlert (1989)

Chicka Chicka Boom Boom

Woweee, get ready to rock and roll people because this book has one of the greatest beats I’ve ever come across.

“A told B, and B told C, “I’ll meet you at the top of the coconut tree.” “Whee!” said D to E F G. “I’ll beat you to the top of the coconut tree.” Chicka chicka boom boom! Will there be enough room? Here comes H up the coconut tree.”

This book is insane amounts of fun to read, although I recommend you take a very large breath before you start because once you get going, there’s no turning back!IMG_1195

A genius introduction to the letters of the alphabet that comes with my personal guarantee, you’re gonna love it!

(Just a word of caution though, I wrote this review about 2 hours ago and I’ve still got “Chicka chicka boom boom” stuck in my head!)

Check out Chicka chicka boom boom at Auckland Libraries.

Or buy Chicka chicka boom boom from Fishpond.

Leave a comment (or just say "hi!")

