Rex by Simon James (2014)

[Welcome to my week of speed reviews]

Many years ago I studied a Children’s Literature paper at University, where we discussed the concept of didacticism at great length. I love a great anti-didactic tale and to me Rex is the epitome of anti-didacticism. Where I expected a lovely moral outcome, instead check this out:

“I hope I’m as terrifying as you when I grow up, Dad,” said Rex.

“I’ll make sure of it!” said the big dinosaur. “That’s what dads are for!”2014-12-29 18.29.13

So so great. I’m doing such a speed review today, that’s all you’re getting. Okay, let me throw a few more words your way, dinosaurs, reluctant adoption, hilarity, brilliance. You’re welcome.

Check out Rex at Auckland Libraries.

Or buy Rex from Fishpond.

Leave a comment (or just say "hi!")

