The book with no pictures by B.J. Novak

This book is a-mazing. It was recommended to me several months ago by a school librarian who told me it could have the kids genuinely rolling on the floor laughing. And all with no pictures!

I went to put a hold on a library copy and discovered that there were over 50 requests, which is extraordinary for a picture book. Needless to say I bought a whole swag-load more copies.

The basic concept is that under the rules of book reading, the reader has to read every word on the page, even if it’s ridiculous. And boy do they get ridiculous.

To see this book in all its glory, check out the author, B.J. Novak (an actor) reading it aloud to a group of kids. You too will find yourself laughing out loud.

Very very hilarious, destined to become a publishing phenomenon. I can’t wait to get into a classroom so I can try it out for myself.

Check out The book with no pictures at Auckland Libraries.

Or buy The book with no pictures from Fishpond.

[Recommended by Ruth – thanks Ruth!]

2 thoughts on “The book with no pictures by B.J. Novak

  1. It looks lots of fun in the video Lucy. I have rung my local library here and they are getting a copy from another library for me – I think the boys will enjoy this one – I will try and read it like the actor – probably not just before bed time though as it looks like sleep straight after the book might be a bit of an ask for them 🙂

Leave a comment (or just say "hi!")

