All I said was by Michael Morpurgo; illustrated by Ross Collins (2014)

I’ve mentioned before that I’m not the biggest fan of birds in the world and after a recent traumatising seagull/pigeon bird attack on the balcony outside my work window, (details will be kept intentionally brief in case you’re eating your breakfast) I’m still feeling a little delicate in relation to our feathered friends.

This particularly gorgeous pigeon however is pretty hard to resist!

“I looked up from my book, and saw a bird at my window. All I said was, “Hi there, bird. You know what I’d like? I’d like to be you. I’d like to be able to fly off to any place I liked. That would be so good.”

It turns out being a bird isn’t that great. There are evil seagulls and crows and angry farmers all out to get you.IMG_1359

With a great hilarious ending, this story would be an excellent starting point in discussions with a class about the animal world, and maybe the concept of the grass always being greener on the other side!

Another great dyslexia-friendly offering from Red Squirrel Publishing.

Check out All I said was at Auckland Libraries.

Or buy All I said was from Fishpond.

Leave a comment (or just say "hi!")

