Big whoop! by Maxine Lee (2014)

1BW_jacket_finalSheesh, tough crowd today. No matter what you tell this guy, Mr. Fox never smiles. Never ever! His friends Roman and Harrison decide it’s high time someone sorted out this appalling state of affairs.

“We’ve been to the zoo!”

“Big whoop.”

I’ve gotta say that I think “Big whoop” is one of the funniest phrases ever, although possibly less so when you’re on the receiving end – multiple times! Roman and Harrision are to be admired, their efforts double and triple until they are coming out with gems like, “I rode a dragon that I tamed with my mind… and a broken chair!” and “We walked to the 2015-01-15 10.49.54moon on stilts made of cheese!” Every time, Mr. Fox cranks out yet another, “Big whoop.” Even worse, his big whoops’ are entirely free from exclamation marks, so he’s not even particularly enthusiastic in his disdain. Like I said, tough crowd.

Finally Roman and Harrision hit upon the one thing that breaks through to Mr. Fox, a sanglewich. Magnificent.

This book is just very very hilarious. I am now officially studying to become a Primary Teacher and Big whoop! is already in my bag ready for tomorrow when I am unleashed on an unsuspecting classroom. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Check out Big whoop! at Auckland Libraries.

Or buy Big whoop! from Fishpond.

3 thoughts on “Big whoop! by Maxine Lee (2014)

  1. I do like the sound of this one. I may have to invest in it for my grandkids. Sounds like a lot of fun. Thanks for sharing, and please let us know how you get on in your class. 🙂

  2. Thanks Norah, I had a great time with “Big Whoop!” in class yesterday. We practiced our “Big whoops” and did some role plays where kids told us exciting stories and sometimes we responded with bored whoops and other times with excited whoops. We talked about the difference our response made to the speaker and I got some great words out of the kids like “miserable”. I’m enjoying this teaching lark!

  3. That’s great Lucy. I’m pleased you and your students are enjoying reading books and sharing stories together. On your recommendation I purchased this book. I haven’t had a chance to share it with my grandchildren yet but I am looking forward to doing so. Thanks for the recommendation. 🙂

Leave a comment (or just say "hi!")

