The wild girl by Chris Wormell (2005)

[Published by Eerdmans Books for Young Readers]

wild

It’s a snoozy sunny afternoon and I’ve happily spent the last 20 minutes on a rambling daydream inspired by The Wild Girl.

A little girl lives alone in the wilderness with her small brown dog. Her solitary lifestyle is rather appealing, full of trout-fishing, outdoor sleeping, berry and root gathering (the insect eating I’m less excited about). Their existence is totally isolated, not even the smoke of another fire enters their world.

One winter day, the little girl discovers bear tracks around her cave and she is forced to defend her home. It turns out the IMG_1767company of bears is not such a bad thing after all.

This is a gentle and original story that I loved very much.

Check out The wild girl at Auckland Libraries.

[Apologies team, this is the first book I’ve reviewed that is out-of-print. I’m breaking all my rules by including it, but I figure you’ll forgive me. Fingers crossed your local library has this wee beauty.]

One thought on “The wild girl by Chris Wormell (2005)

  1. Hi Lucy, this is one of our favorite storybooks. I bought it quite a few years ago and still enjoy reading it to young visitors. thanks for including books like this.

Leave a comment (or just say "hi!")

