Go, green gecko! by Gay Hay; illustrated by Margaret Tolland (2015)

[Published by Page Break]

green

Oh boy, I’ve just found this awesome “If you see a gecko…” online form, and now this weekend all I want to do is go gecko-hunting. Given that I’m a city girl, I think my chances are on the slim side, so I’ll have to stick to reading about them instead. Luckily, the illustrations in this amazing picture book are almost enough to make me feel I’ve been successful in my imaginary gecko hunt.

Aside from an abundance of delightful green geckos, this book also overflows with lovely language. Our small friend partakes in  “scurrying” “tumbling” and “slithering” while IMG_1791constantly on the lookout for predators.

Complete with fascinating gecko fact pages, this is a wee New Zealand gem.

Check out Go, green gecko! at Auckland Libraries.

Or buy Go, green gecko! from Fishpond.

Leave a comment (or just say "hi!")

