Oliver by Birgitta Sif (2012)

[Published by Walker Books]

oliver

I spent the whole time reading this book wanting to yell, “Oliver, hello, over here, I really want to be your friend.” Check out his amazing puppets, who wouldn’t want to hang out with this guy? I’d even be willing to share my own puppet collection with him (and I don’t say that lightly).

Because the world sometimes makes no sense, Oliver doesn’t have a lot of friends, well not living ones anyway. He feels different. His “friends” are awesome, but they’re not always great at joining in, and they can be decidedly unresponsive at times. “Yoohoo, Oliver, I’m still waiting!”

There is a small and rather delightful friend-option in Oliver’s vicinity, but he just never seems to notice her. Until the day his tennis ball goes AWOL, and a perfect friendship is forged. Sigh, I was pretty sure it IMG_1797was going to be me, but Olivia looks like a lot of fun, so I’ll stand aside graciously.

This gorgeous book teems with all sorts of cute characters. Both the illustrations and the story get a huge thumbs up from me. At least I still have my puppets.

Check out Oliver at Auckland Libraries.

Or buy Oliver from Fishpond.

Leave a comment (or just say "hi!")

