A river by Marc Martin (2015)

[Published by Viking Books]

river

Wow. Let’s be honest for a second. I have immersed myself in picture books for the past almost year, so it wouldn’t be too surprising if I was starting to feel a bit jaded. But I can truthfully say that I am still sometimes floored by the amazing magical beings I hold in my hands.

A river has the most wonderful cover. The image doesn’t do its tactile wonder and depth of colour justice. We are welcomed into the pages with a double page spread of a bedroom in which a small girl sits. From the bedroom we escape through the window and down the river which flows from the city, through the countryside into the jungle and back again. I couldn’t wait to turn the page and feast on each new vista. IMG_1818

“It slides into the hills and valleys, and I can hear the murmuring of running water…

that grows louder and takes me tumbling down a waterfall taller than any building.”

The imagery, language and illustrations in this book are just very very wow. Highly recommended.

Check out A river at Auckland Libraries.

Or buy A river from Fishpond.

Leave a comment (or just say "hi!")

