A squash and a squeeze by Julia Donaldson; illustrated by Axel Scheffler (1993)

[Published by Methuen Children’s Books]

A-Squash-and-a-Squeeze

When I worked for Christchurch Libraries, A squash and a squeeze was one of the titles we used for our interactive storytelling in schools. It has been some time since I’ve hung out with the little old lady (and the jug on her shelf), but as I flicked through the pages of this wonderful book I discovered I can still pretty much recite it off by heart.

“Wise old man, won’t you help me please? My house is a squash and a squeeze. “I’ve lived in some squeezy houses myself, but I’ve never felt the need to introduce a pig, goat and cow in the mix in order to appreciate life that much more once they’ve gone. It’s a great message and told in a merry way.

There is so much to love about A squash and a squeeze. Julia Donaldson is the queen of wonderful rhyming stories, they are loads of fun to read aloud. This book has the added bonus of being singable (or you could push play on the CD player if that’s your jam). To make it interactive, add puppets or animal costumes and get your audience to help tell the story. Good times!

Check out A squash and a squeeze at Auckland Libraries.

Or buy A Squash and a Squeeze from Fishpond.

Leave a comment (or just say "hi!")

