Leaf Man by Lois Ehlert (2005)

[Published by Harcourt Children’s Books]

LeafMan2I was in the central city recently going for a wander and I came across some amazing leaves. They were such perfect leaf-examples that I picked them up and carried them with me to the car. When I got home I pinned them on the wall (remember, renovation, so all the walls in my house have the potential to become pinboards at the moment).

I’ve spotted them regularly over the weeks since they were 20150721_220509pinned and as their colour fades, so does a little bit of their beauty, but they still make me happy.

Today at university I discovered this picture book, and fell just a little bit in love with Lois Ehlert, “When I see a beautiful leaf, I have to pick it up. I can’t help myself; it’s something I’ve done all my life.” Lois’ secret is to take colour copies of the leaves she collects, and it is these images that fill the pages of Leaf Man.

“Leaf man used to live near me, in a pile of leaves. But yesterday the wind blew leaf man away.”

20150720_10002820150720_100038

 

 

 

 

I’m sorry, my terrible phone photography does not do the artwork of this book justice (a cunning ploy to force you to get your own copy perhaps?) This is a wonderful imaginative story that will no doubt be the starting point from which amazing creative things will happen in your classroom or library.

Check out Leaf Man at Auckland Libraries.

Or buy Leaf Man from Fishpond.

Leave a comment (or just say "hi!")

